What is the Ideal Lifestyle?

sexy-girls-yoga-pants-2

The one with the most hot girls in yoga pants, of course.

Eh, maybe there are other things.  But then again maybe not…

Following the path of the masses isn’t for everyone.  I personally found this out the hard way.  Many people have looked at me like I’m crazy in the past few months for leaving my extremely stable job teaching high school. I’m happier now, though.

Over the past 2 years, I have lived four drastically different lifestyles–all with varying degrees of money, autonomy, and happiness. 

In particular, I’ve made a drastic lifestyle change in the last month–from a high school teacher and coach, I’ve gotten a job as a waiter at a fine dining restaurant and aspiring writer.  Life is fun now–definitely better than last year.  In a lot of ways.  But yet, life is never perfect.  Which got me thinking, what are the most important parts of your life?   If you believe you have the power to construct your life any way you want to (and you should), how would you construct it?

My four personal experiences in the past 2 years:

Life #1) Rural Latin America.  In the Peace Corps.  I lived like Henry David Throreau in a one room shack and made $300 per month.

Pros: Lots of free time for writing and reflection.  I read over 50 books, long ones while I am here.  I am high status, and anywhere I go, I get a free meal.  People are extremely interested in me.  Also, I feel very useful here–I raise the literacy rate of the elementary school, and help build a health post in an isolated area.  Yea, typical hippie Peace Corps shit.  Every day is an adventure.  Oh yea, and Peace Corps girls are so horny, sleeping with them is like shooting fish in a barrel.

Cons: Dads guard their daughters like its…well like it’s rural South America.  I don’t get a lot of ass when I’m in my “town,” And the nearest decent sized city is three hours away by bus.  I see my own family twice in two years.  I make no money.  The interest on my student loans compounds.

Life #2) Living at home with my parents while teaching high school and coaching.

Pros: Stability.  Health Insurance.  An audience of kids that I can attempt to teach some real shit.    I get to jam with my Dad on weeknights.

Cons: Boredom.  A meager salary (talking $1,400/month after taxes).  Live in the suburbs.  Have a 2 hour commute.   Have no time to finish the book I had started with all my time in the Peace Corps.  No quality girls (though I’m in a relationship, so not a factor for me)

Life #3) Living at home while freelance translating

Pros: Make a shitton of money ($30/hour).  Save all of that money.

Cons: Everything else. Get me the fuck out of the suburbs. My life is boring as shit.  I might as well be making love to excel documents for 8 hrs/day.

 

Life #4) Living in a big city and working as a fine dining waiter (current)

Pros: Make more money than teaching.  Have an apartment with roommates.  Lots of attractive girls around.  Sense of autonomy.  I feel more inspired when writing.  I have a lot more time to work on my screenplay.

Cons: The hours are long as a waiter, and the work is tiring.  I work nights and I’m on my feet all day.  I have to pay rent and don’t save as much money.  I don’t have health insurance at the moment…and I’m essentially in a dead end career.  Whereas before the problem was too much stability, now it’s the opposite.  I’m in the wilderness.

Still, I’m way fucking happier now.  I’m writing, lifting, and working, saving money and focusing on a few key life goals.

I wonder if in 50 years I’ll think, yea I should have kept at the teaching lifestyle (which was essentially a 7am – 6pm job), or if I’ll be happy I went for it with what I am doing now?

If you don’t know the answer to that question, there is no hope for you.

By the way, there are a lot more girls in yoga pants around these days.  Life is good.

One response to “What is the Ideal Lifestyle?

Leave a Reply

